The Joys and Pitfalls of Researching Women’s History

The Freelance History Writer

florentinewomen-300x386

A couple of years ago, out of the blue, an old friend put out a message she was looking for someone to co-write with her on her blog. The blog specialized in women’s history. Having been a history major in college and keeping history as a hobby most of my life, I was really intrigued. For many years, the books I read were histories and biographies, for the most part about women and written by women. I told my friend I was interested in writing with her and she set me up to get started.

At the time, I had just read two biographies of Emma of Normandy, the tenth century medieval queen whose first marriage was to the Anglo-Saxon King Aethelred the Unready, and secondly, she married Cnut, England’s Danish king. An enterprising woman for sure! One of the biographies was based on what scanty historical…

View original post 1,004 more words

About bemonzon

Historian, Educator. My areas of interest are medieval Spain and England, the history of medieval women, Catholicism, popular religion and Anglo-Spanish relations.
This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

